中文       Go Back       Search
WU Jingshen
Chair Professor
Dean of School of System Design and Intelligent Manufacturing

Professor Wu Jingshen graduated from the University of Science and Technology of China in 1983 and was awarded the “Guo Moruo Scholarship” by the highest honorary award of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. In 1987, he was selected to study at the Technical University of Hamburg, Germany.  In December 1989, he went to the Department of Mechanical Engineering of the University of Sydney, Australia for his doctoral degree, mentored by Prof. Yiu-Wing Mai, a world-renowned engineering materials expert, academician of the Royal Academy of Sciences, academician of the Australian Academy of Sciences and the Academy of Engineering. During this period, he went to the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan for a one-year postgraduate study. In March, 1995, he received his Ph.D. and won the Postdoctoral Fund of the Australian National Research Council in April. In 1996,  he joined the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (here after as HKUST)  as a tenured professor of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. In 2019, Professor Wu was hired as the Dean of the School of System Design and Intelligent Manufacturing (SDIM) at Southern University of Science and Technology.

During the working period at HKUST, Professor Wu was the Director of the Engineering Materials and Reliability Research Center (CEMAR), the Founding Associate Dean of the Fok Ying Tung Graduate School (2007-2009), and the Leader of  Preparatory Working Group (2011-2014) and the Founding Dean (2014-2016) of Xi'an Jiaotong University-HKUST Joint School of Sustainable Development  (XJTU-HKUST JSSD) , the Acting Dean of Fok Ying Tung Graduate School  (2016), the Founding Director of the  Division of Integrated Systems and Design  (ISD)  (2017),  and the Assistant to the President of HKUST (2012–2018).

At the same time, Professor Wu also served as the special assistant to the President of Xi'an Jiaotong University (2012-2014), the Dean of the School of Chemical Engineering of Xi'an Jiaotong University (2013-2015), overseas expert of the Undergraduate Education Evaluation Team of the Ministry of Education, and the member of the Guangzhou Science and Technology Innovation Decision-making Advisory Committee, Standing  Member of  Industrial Development Expert Advisory Committee of Guangzhou Nansha New District, Member of Academic Committee of Key Laboratory of Engineering Plastics of Chinese Academy of Sciences, Member of Academic Committee of Guangdong Provincial Key Laboratory of Nano-Micro Materials Research, Senior Science and Technology Consultant of Kingfa Technology Research Institute, expert of Accreditation Service of Hong Kong Innovation and Technology Commission. Meanwhile,  he is expert and visiting professor at Xi'an Jiaotong University, Sichuan University, Harbin Engineering University, and China University of Science and Technology.

Professor Wu is member of many international academic organizations such as the American Society of Electrical Engineers, the American Chemical Society, the American Society of Plastic Engineers, the American Polymer Processing Association, and the Royal Australian Chemical Society. He is also a member of the Editorial Board of the Materials Science Forum.

His research interests include microelectronic package structure design, processing optimization and product reliability; microstructure-processing condition-property relationship of polymer and polymer composites.


Honors and awards

  • 1995-1998Received the Australian National Research Council Postdoctoral Fund

  • 1991-1993Received the Australian Youth Research Fund

  • 1997 and 2000Received the Outstanding Teaching Award of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

  • 2000Received the Visiting Scholar Fund of the Key Laboratory of the Ministry of Education.


Industrial cooperation

Prof. WU Jingshen has been a senior consultant of international and domestic famous enterprises such as NXP, AMD, Kingfa Technology, Midea, Sinopec Beijing Research Institute.